• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

4th year project

Which project should I choose?

• Project 1

Votes: 2 40.0%
  • Project 2

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Project 3

Votes: 3 60.0%

• Total voters
I am currently in my fourth year (undergrad) studying Applied Mathematics with specialization in mechanical controls. I have to decide on my fourth year project topic very soon. I am hoping to make it related to some area of finance. I am in quandary between 3 areas of research:

Project 1. Learning Algorithms in Team and Game Problems (with focus on static game theory)
Project 2. Control along trajectories (ie. linearizing an LTV system along a non-stationary trajectory)
Project 3. Stochastic Network Control Systems

I have provided more detailed descriptions below; however, the topics are very open-ended and I could tailor the scope of the project. I have the most general background knowledge of project 2 and it is related to linearization of LTI control system along a 'non-stationary' trajectory (apparently this is very difficult according to the prof.). Obviously, project 2 has nothing to do with finance (but it's interesting to me). Besides a little bit of research I have done over the past week, I know very little about Project 2 and Project 3. However, this is not an issue as my professor/supervisor will provide all background information during office hours or lectures.