• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

A finance grad looking into IT then to moving to quant, feasible?

Hi guys, it's gonna be a bit long story, bear with me.

I'm a BSc grad, class of 2013 from one of top-30 university worldwide with level 1 CFA.
Also, I'm 25 now which I feel is quite old, and I want to get this career progression as fast as possible.
I'm posting this discussion to beg for practical advices. (yes, BEG. I'm desperate)

After graduation, I've got 7-months prop trading experience in prop-shops in London;
2-month intern, 4-month full-time (this is where I was sacked) and 1-month intern again,
and I'm between jobs since April 2014 (now mid- August 2014).

While working in the prop shops, I found myself becoming more interested in and enthused to quant (quant analysis & trading) which requires strong software skills. So, after I left my last position, I took initiative and mastered VBA, C, and Matlab to build a quant trading model which I'm currently running on my personal trading account for a couple of months (profitable).

I then made a huge number of applications to quant analyst positions with the excel files of my quant trading model attached, and only very few invited me for an interview, which then was taken by other PhD candidates.