• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

A voice of realism needed!

Hello everyone!

To give some backstory, I am a successful systems engineer by trade (3 years out of college) but I have been trying to transition into a career in quantitative finance. I took the GRE and came out very well (163 verbal 167 quant) and as such my mind got set on all these top tier programs (MFE and similar). I need someone to tell me if it is worth even applying to those schools , or if my background just won't make the cut.

Profile:
GRE: 163 verbal 167 quant
BS in electrical engineering from a florida university.
GPA:3.8
Relevant courses:
Calculus I/II/III
Differential Equations
Engineering Statistics
Engineering Analysis (EE version of matrix algebra/ linear)
Random Variables and Stochastic Processes- graduate level from Purdue University

Probably irrelevant but additional computationally intensive frequency domain courses:
Linear Systems Analysis
Digital Signal Processing

Programming: Matlab, C/C++, and some Java

Work experience: Systems Engineer for 5 yrs (2 yrs internship). Primary role is data analytics/algorithm development/analysis tool development. Not finance related but again computationally intensive. Lots of work with 3D covariances and various rotations/translations.

So where I need a realistic perspective is do you feel it is worth applying to those top tier schools? (Columbia, CMU, U of Chicago, NYU etc.)