• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

advice/help for programs

Hello all.

I'm a senior engineering student at the Cooper Union who is looking for input and advice on applying to MFE programs.

I'm planning on applying to 6-7 schools being:
Berkeley
U Chicago
Baruch
Boston U
Stanford
CMU
NYU

I have a 3.2 gpa and 1490 GRE score (800 math).

My only relevant experience in finance is that this past summer I worked as a clerk on the floor of the Chicago Mercantile Exchange during the June roll of the S&P 500 futures.

Basically, I'm looking for any tips/advice on what I can do to make myself a more attractive applicant to these schools. and if someone could guesstimate my chances of admission, that would be great.

EDIT: I forgot before, but I need to take the GRE Math subject test for U Chicago. What is the minimum score where it pays to send the score report to the other schools? I read that an 850 is 75th percentile and is considered a good score.

Thanks.

a 850 cannt possibly be a 75 percentile.

last year i scored 750, a 81 percentile. however from my perspective, the most difficult part of math subject, abstract algebra, has rather limited use in FE.

Hello all.
I'm planning on applying to 6-7 schools being:
Berkeley
U Chicago
Baruch
Boston U
Stanford
CMU
NYU

What about Columbia? They have 2 programs.