• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Advice needed regarding change of university

my name is nancy. i have started visiting this site lately and found it really useful. well, i am an aspiring quant too.

i am studying ms in finance at illinois institute of technology chicago. I came here last yr. I have done mtech integrated in mathematics and computing from iit delhi. i had plans for doing phd earlier but dropped at the last minute ( had admit from 3 schools-ufl, stonybrook). I applied for ms in finance then and by that time mostly deadlines for top univs had passed ( i m not sure if i would have made it if i had applied). Anyways, when i came here last yr i came to know about the importance of univ, brand name and all..i heard things like good firms dont even consider you if you don come from nyu, cmu etc.

i applied to some good univs out of insecurity..i have admit from columbia and uchicago..waiting from nyu..i cant decide wht to do...i never heard abt baruch until i came to this forum..and now i really regret not applying there...

firstly i wanted to know is it really worth spending more on my education considering the mrkt right now...how imp in interviews is your univ name..