• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Algorithmic trader based in India. Advice for future career prospects and Education path

Hi All,

I just came across this awesome forum for discussion. Looks like I would find answers to my questions here. I am a senior associate and team lead at an algo trading firm in India. I am 36 year old and presently, I lead a team of traders and developers . I have more than seven years of experience in HFT and overall around twelve years of job experience. Off late, I have started questioning what's next in my role and started to feel saturation in current role.

I hold a Bachelors and Masters Degree in Electrical Engineering from IIT Bombay and I am considering Executive MBA or MS in Quant Finance from US. At my career stage, I am looking more towards quant fund manager kind of roles in future. What do you think I can do to make a career leap in this field. How does a typical algo trader grows in this domain ? Is MBA a good options for fund management kind of role ? I currently manage a portfolio of around 2 Million $ and want to reach a level where I am responsible for much bigger fund size and different geographies.

Looking forward for your reverts and thanks in advance for the same.

Sorry, I do not feel prepared to help you in any way. I would recommend you to use LinkedIn to find a profile similar to what you may look for and chat with them instead.