• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Allocating assets among retirement portfolio

Hi folks,

I'm a student in the UW CFRM program. I just completed the QFCF certificate and am now working on the CFIN certificate. The only type of portfolio optimization I have worked with, thus far, is mean-variance optimization. Well, I have also experimented with maximum Sortino optimization as well. Then, there is risk-parity and equal weighting, but these are trivial.

Let's say I want together a portfolio of mutual funds for a retirement portfolio, from the below list. The goal of this portfolio is aggressive growth, with little regard to risk. This risky portfolio represents only about 25% of a larger portfolio; the other 75% is invested in risk-free accounts yielding between 2.2% - 4.1%.

Let's say, hypothetically, this portfolio is for a couple aged 71 and 73, who don't need to touch the money. Let's assume they receive pensions that cover all of their expenses, and then some.

Is it actually worth paying a retirement professional something like 1% a year to choose the proper blend of mutual funds for this portfolio?

Would I be just as well off doing mean-variance optimization, or just using equal weighting or volatility-parity weighting on my own? It seems like most retirement professionals don't actually know that much about what they are doing, if you quiz them on what methods they use.