• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

ambitious college student needs advise!!!

Jia

Hello, everyone. This is my first time to be here. And let me go straight to the point.
I am currently a senior in high school and heading to college in fall. The college I am going to is Uconn(University of Connecticut) and now I claimed my major as Finance. And as my interest in Mathematical Finance accumulated in recent years, I have decided to be "quant" in the future. And from my shallow knowledge, it requires tons of math and programming instead of the old tradition Finance knowledge. So my question is that what major will benefit me the most after I finish undergrad and will best prepare me for the Mathematical graduate program. Thank you for your advise!!!!!!
ps: i am VERY good at math...so don't worry about that...i would say i am a typical geek. :)

It's not about the major it's about the classes you take. Get minors in computer science and math. Be sure to take classes which deal with C++, data structures and design patterns. That'll get you the programming you need. As far as math goes, you'll want to take at least all of the calculus offered at UConn as well as linear algebra, analytical probability, differential equations and if offered stochastic calculus. On top of that, it wouldn't hurt to take a "math of finance" class closer to the end of your term at UConn to tie the information together.