• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

applying to MFE out of undergrad?

Hey,

I'm an undergrad right now set to graduate in Dec09 (I'm staying one semester past four years because I am a dual degree student here so it takes a bit longer). I am extremely interested in quant finance, but have pretty much been trolling the hell out of admissions profiles for all the top MFE programs and most of them actually seem sort of terrifying: "Math PhDs from Beijing University," "3.7 gpa in computer science from Brown undergrad plus a Masters," and not many people at all seeming to apply directly out of undergrad.

It seems like no one in this forum is all that willing to give opinions on admissions chances based on applicants' profiles, but can anyone tell me if I have a shot like essentially anywhere, or if you think it would be wiser for me to get some work in the industry for a few years as opposed to applying directly out of undergrad?

UPenn Class of 2009
-Dual Degree: BS Wharton Finance, BAS Computer Science at Penn Engineering, Minor in Math