• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

At a crossroads

So a bit about me, I have about 4 years of work experience under the belt as well as a STEM masters. My first job I worked at an asset manager working on fixed income risk analytics. I did that for two years then switched over to a fintech startup in the Bay Area. Compared to my peers in my group at my level, I make 20% more and have roughly the same WLB. However, I am less excited about the work I'm doing - reason being I enjoy content about the markets more and with institutions, rather than consumer financial services (which is mainly what fintech is about). I'm also thinking about moving to NYC in the next couple of years, and am thinking if I should pivot back to the industry. I am afraid that I am also idolizing the financial industry and second guessing myself on where I see myself in the next 5-10 years.

I'm looking for critique here: do you guys think it's worth pivoting back to a career in investment management? Or should I just try to pivot fully to tech? Here are my thoughts: