• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Best Internships to Get to Get Admitted to a Good MFE Program?

Hi everyone,

I'm a sophomore undergrad double major in Applied Math with a quant finance specialization and an Economics 2nd major. I want to get my Master's in Financial Engineering or a similar degree to become a quant. Last summer, I interned at a private equity firm doing some analyst work on Excel and making presentations. Right now, I am a TA for intermediate macro. This summer, I will be a research assistant to my intermediate macro prof when he leaves my uni to work at the Federal Reserve.

What kind of an internship should I get for my last summer as an undergrad to maximize my chances of getting admitted to a prestigious MFE program like Baruch/CMU/Princeton/Columbia/NYU/Cornell? If there's anyone who is currently in an MFE program that has any insight, I'd be incredibly grateful. Thanks!

You are on a pretty ideal track so far.

It really isn't that complicated, the bigger and brighter the company and the more relevant the work experience the better odds you have at a top program.

So... just start googling and applying. Anything from a well known company that starts with 'quant' is gold. Plenty of people come from Strats, macro research, and other areas too. Just go for modeling/quant/trading positions and see what you can scrape up.