• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Best Undergrad program for MFE

hey guys, im new here and would like to ask everyone their opinion on a situation i have.

Im an Undergraduate at Baruch with aspirations to go to graduate school for Financial Engineering/ Quantitative Finance.

Which program at Baruch best prepares you for an MFE program and looks best for Graduate school admissions? Im looking between a major in Finance and the Quantitative Methods and Modeling program (which is alot of computer sci/statistics). In QMM i can take classes such as Stochastics and C++. Either way i will have a minor in math.

All input would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Because you are in Baruch, you can try to schedule an appointment with Baruch's MFE director. Or at least attend one of the informational sessions. The next one is on Tuesday, April 7, 2009.

My recommendation would be to lean toward the hard sciences rather than finance. But as long as you do well in which ever program you choose, you'll probably be competitive either way. Max's point is dually noted.

...Im looking between a major in Finance...

As an MFE student who went the Finance + Minor in Math route as undergrad, I do not recommend it.

The type of Finance you'll learn as undergrad and the type you'll learn at an MFE program is very different. Financial engineering is a highly specialized within Finance, it's isn't really Finance in the traditional sense.