• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Cambridge Mphil Finance or LSE MSc Finance?

Hi guys! I got into these two programs and now I'm struggling between the two. Hope to get some advice from you!
My goal is to work in IB or Asset Management, not to continue with the PhD. LSE places well in London but Cambridge has a better brand name in Asia. And as a Chinese student, I probably will have to go back to China.

My background:
Financial Economics major, Math minor
No previous internship at big banks
Lack of knowledge in Finance
Good GPA but weak Math background (only minor)

My plan A: Study at LSE, try to find a job in investment banks or commercial banks in Asia and at the same time apply to Columbia MAFN, MIT MFin, Baruch and Berkeley MFE (I have only GMAT scores so there are limitations in school selection. Not able to apply to NYU, Chicago, Cornell). If I'm not accepted, then I will go back to China to find a job. The job hunting process will take nearly a year.

My plan B: Reserve the degree at LSE, study at Cambridge, try to find a job in investment banks or commercial banks in Asia and at the same time apply to same schools above. If I'm not accepted by those schools, I will go back to LSE to take MSc Finance.

My though is whether the Cambridge name and quantitative course materials can help me in brushing up my math skills and my application to the above two financial math/engineering programs.

Cambridge