• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career changer - Second Master’s?

As the title states, I am a mathematics teacher at a local community college in my mid-30s. I would like to attempt a career change into becoming a quantitative analyst. I currently have a B.S. and M.S. in Mathematics from mid-tier state schools and my B.S. concentration was in mathematical statistics. However, my M.S. is focused on Math Education so I’m seriously considering going back for a second Master’s to increase my skillset. The three programs I’m looking at are:

1. Johns Hopkins - Applied and Computational Mathematics
This is what I’m most interested in as it would allow me to take more coursework in Stochastics as well as finance-related courses like Optimization for Finance. It does, however, worry me that it sounds almost identical to my previous Master’s on paper. Thesis option is available.

2. Georgia Tech - Computer Science
This would probably look the best in terms of degree title and school pedigree and would allow me to focus on machine learning. The lack of focus on programming skills worries me, even though that is to be expected from a theory-based program. Thesis option is available.

3. UPenn - MCIT