• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career / Education Advice

Hi All,
I’m having some trouble deciding on a next step, hoping some of you may have some insight.
I have an undergraduate degree in finance with a minor in economics in a decent, but mostly average, private school with a pretty bad GPA (2.9). I just sat for CFA L3 in May, awaiting results. I have 6 yrs experience in a “production monitoring” (sort of trading operations if you’re not familiar) role at a top tier quant hedge fund. My role is not overly technical, and it really doesn’t require one to know much about finance / trading aside from the basics.

I’ve taken some initiative in learning python, and I’ve built a few projects including one that is used by my team to automate a process.

I’m realizing that I really enjoy programming, and the mathematical side of finance. I only did the most basic calculus and algebra in college required to earn the degree, same with statistics.

I’m really interested in trading, specifically if I could use data and statistics to make decisions. Interested in all forms of this including quant portfolio management/ risk management.