• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Career/Educational Advice

Okay, so this is my first post on this board and I just wanted to get some advice on my career/educational future. First, I suppose I should provide a little background on myself.

I graduated from UCLA about 3 and a half years ago with a bachelors in Mathematics Applied Science with an Emphasis in Actuarial Science. I also took a fair amount of accounting and economics courses before I graduated. We used Matlab in a couple of numerical analysis classes at UCLA and I also had a few classes inn financial mathematics where we used a program called Eviews (have not seen anyone mention it). I enjoyed the class and we talked about stochastic processes, brownian motion, the CAPM, option pricing, etc.. I found that I was interested in this a lot more than anything other applications of mathematics. I did some research into becoming an Actuary but from what I understand most of them work with insurance companies, and I think the job could get quite boring.