• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Chances of making it to an MFE/Masters Program

Hi everyone, I’ve decided to apply for some MFE/QFin Masters Programs in the fall, and would like to know my chances with my current background.

In 2017, I graduated with a 3.0 in economics from a well-known public school in NY (where most programs I plan to apply to are located). My low GPA was attributable to some tragic life events and lack of direction, but I had high marks the last year and earned As in my core/relevant courses (Econometrics, Finance).

Since then, I’ve worked at large US and foreign financial institutions (think JPM/BAML/Barclays) in both Treasury and risk related roles, with almost three years of professional work experience.

Academically, I definitely do not possess the quantitative backgrounds of many applicants, but this year I have taken Calc 2 and Linear Algebra from a well known school in NYC with A grades, and plan on taking Calc 3 in the summer. I’ve also learned Python, or at least enough to build functions, use OOP, and perform data analysis (Pandas, Linear regressions) to a decent level.

On the extracurricular side, I passed all three levels of CFA exams, tutor the exam curriculum, and take a relatively active part in the CFA Society/NYSSA.