• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Choosing undergraduate thesis advisor

Hi,

I'm a final year student majoring in Quant Finance and Stats from a relatively well-known university in Asia. I've decided to take up a Honors degree by working on a project in my final year but I'm still on the fence about choosing an advisor, because one of my 3 LORs is gonna be coming from said advisor. So let's say I can choose to work with either A, B, or C.

- A is a tenured prof at one of the top US universities (but he is on a sabbatical leave to work here) and an active researcher among FE community. The thing is his proposed thesis topic is not even remotely related to my areas of interest, nor whatever courses I have ever taken. (And it's strange because I have done my homework and seen that a majority of his published papers are what I'm really interested in, only to find out later that for this very academic year he decides to do something new.) He only teaches postgraduate courses.