• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE CMU Certificate in CF vs CQF program

Howdy all!

I'm looking to move from a risk management role into a more quant role in the next few years (the sooner the better of course!).

I am looking at two different options for adding to my education and I hope some of you have some opinions on the subject that you can share.

I'll start a bit with my background. I graduated from the University of Texas at Austin in 1997 with a bachelor of Journalism and a minor in business. My first job was as a Financial Adviser with Morgan Stanley from 1997 to 2001. during that time, I earned an MBA from Southern Methodist University. After that I went to my current firm (a large bank), where I worked as a Portfolio Manager within the trust division for four years. During that period, I earned the CFA Charter. In 2005, I moved into our Investment Bank as a Market Risk Manager on our rates derivatives desk.

The two options I am considering for expanding my education are the Carnegie Mellon program, and the Certificate in Quantitative Finance program. I have got to open houses for both in the past month. My thoughts so far are this:

1) CMU - I would most likely pursue their Math Certificate in Computational Finance if I chose CMU. The cost is about $25k and the program last 18 months. The advantages to this