• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

COMPARE CMU MSCF vs UC Berkeley Statistics MA

CMU MSCF vs UC Berkeley Statistics MA

• CMU MSCF

Votes: 29 70.7%
  • UC Berkeley Statistics MA with a third semester extension

Votes: 12 29.3%

• Total voters
Hi everybody here. I am now struggling in choosing between CMU MSCF and UC Berkeley Statistics MA (both 1.5 yrs)

I am an undergrad who major in finance and data science, with several internships in small buyside doing alpha research and building machine learning models and a data science internship at a big tech company. I wish to pursue my career at buyside as quant researcher or data scientist. I am also welcomed to be a data scientist in a tech firm, but my first preference is to a quant.

During my undergrad, I have taken all the prerequisites for MFE program, one graduate-level stochastic calculus course and some course in derivatives(including options, fix-income products, credit products, structured products and so on). And I think I still need more training on statistics and machine learning.

CMU MSCF
pros:

1. Rigorous training in sto cal, financial data science, etc.
2. Career services that make good internship and full-time employment statistics
cons: