• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Columbia MFE Columbia MFE: should I go for it ?

Hi everyone,

I am an international student, I was admitted to Columbia's MFE and I am so confused right now.

I thought I was doing the right choice since the MSFE is my only option in the states.
But I have been reading this forum for a while and I have read so many negative posts about Columbia that I really don't know what to do right now.

I plan to work in quantitative risk management and I cannot find an answer to this question : if I work hard, will I be able to find a decent job in NYC ?

Thank you very much for your help and consideration.

Columbia is an Ivy League school and usually ranked in the top 10 for the world. I don't think you can go wrong at a school like that.

Columbia is in no doubt a high rank school with a strong alumnus network. but its graduates can fail to land on an entry level job and return to their country for placement. The same applies to NYU, Baruch and other top-notched programs. A small size of class does not really add to the probability you can find a job on the street or make the process a bit easier. The competitors come from all financial engineering programs from top schools like CMU, Cornell... ,quantitative phds from top schools...