• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Columbia MS Programs

Hey, I am new to this forum so I have a few questions to ask. I graduated from Johns Hopkins in 2008 with an Econ degree (premed concentration) and a GPA of 3.61. I received between A/A- in all quantitative classes (micro theory, macro theory, econometrics, prob/stats, etc.). The thing is I have zero experience in the finance industry. Upon graduation, I used my premed background to work as a research assistant in a cancer research lab at Johns Hopkins Medical Institution and I have a publication in highly-regarded peer reviewed journal. The thing is I just realized that I do not want to pursue my career in medicine anymore and would like to switch to finance. Do Master Programs look down on people who are looking to switch their career? I am planning to take the GRE in a couple months and applying to Columbia MS Program in Financial Engineering and MS Program in Operation Research. Can I apply to both programs at once? Also, how competitive are these programs considering that I have ZERO work experience in the financial industry. Also, how do graduates in these programs do in terms of securing an IBank job? Thanks!

>>Do Master Programs look down on people who are looking to switch their career?
On contrary, these programs specifically flourish with career-changers. They are there to fill a need of people trying to break into finance.