• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Considering a career move to something quant related...

I am currently an Officer in the Army who is considering making a change to something quant related. I studied both Marketing and Finance as an undergraduate, and found that quant plays a huge role in each. Ever since graduating and moving through both the civilian and military world, I have found that my quant skills were useful and usually placed me ahead of others. I am considering making a shift to something that is more quant related and I am at a bit of a loss on where to start.

If I stay in the Army, we have ORSAs who perform basically OR to determine the operational effectiveness, manning requirements, projections for future requirements, etc. This would be a method for me to get my feet wet. Through this, I may also be able to have a degree in OR, Analytics, Econ, Financial Engineering, Systems or Industrial Engineer, or a similar degree paid for by the Army.

However, I am considering my civilian options at at this point. Right now, I am considering pursuing an online quant program combined with a MBA. I am going to complete a degree in Operations Management this year (mostly driven by the Army), and will have the ability to pursue an online program after I complete this MS.

The programs I am considering are:
MS in Computation Finance-Carnegie Mellon
MS in Computational Finance and Risk Management-Washington