• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Current Undergrad Math/Acccounting -> Need Insight

Hello all,

After lurking for a while, I just signed up so I can further soak up some of the wealth of knowledge on this site. I'm currently an undergraduate mathematics and accounting dual major with CGPA 3.96 and Major GPA 4.0 I was hoping I could get some advice/wisdom in regards to what degrees, internships, and/or post-graduate degrees I should be setting my sights on.

To keep this short and to the point, my ideal career paths are as follows (in order of most desirable)
1) IB Analyst (BB sell side)
2) Equities Analyst (buy-side)
3) Trading/HF/VC (all equally desirable at this level)
4) Accountant (my "safe" option, guaranteed a position but this is my LAST choice)

I most prefer to land a good internship/entry-level position in the above fields before doing post-grad. I definitely WILL go to grad school, but do not want to go too early so as to keep myself from becoming over-educated and under-experienced.

I'm considering two post-grad degree routes. One being an MFE, or similar, from any top school. The other being Master's in Public Accounting from UT-Austin only.

Which of the two routes would you most recommend for me, given my desired career paths? (I'm near equally interested in sell-side and buy-side) Sorry if I'm coming across a bit naive, but I'll never get anywhere without asking questions! Thanks!