• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Dazed and confused.

Hi Guys,

I am a Computer Engineer from Mumbai University. My final year aggregate is 59% (3.0 GPA). I do have good work experience as an equity research analyst, which will be of 2 years coming September. My IELTS score is decent, 8/9 and GRE score is poor, 300/340; V: 146, Q:154. I have stellar LORs and a good SOP.

My dilemma is that I have a standing conditional offer from the University of Glasgow, pre master's pathway program. I am supposed to reply to them in next few days as the program starts on 22nd Feb. But, my sponsor is adamant that I get into some college in London, preferably LSE, as according to him, there is no point going to the UK and not study in London. I have applied to the colleges in London and still waiting for their replies.

I have applied to LSE, UCL, Manchester, Kings, Cass, Brunel. Do you think I have a chance in getting in any of these colleges in London? I am wondering how good is the program in UoG? Would it be worth the wait for the colleges? Or should I try and take up Glasgow?

Also, I came across this two-year part-time online program offered by WorldQuant, can you guys help me understand if there is any difference between this and a regular MFE program offered in UK/USA. I am considering this as this is free of cost and then I won't have to rely on any sponsor.

Thanks,
AT

Hi,