• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Deciding between MBA/MFE - would appreciate advice

mhy

Hello,

Just joined QuantNet today. I'm really impressed by the quality of people/information here and I've already spent hours reading some of the threads.

For a bit of background, I have an undergraduate computer science degree / mathematics minor and I work as a software developer in NYC. I worked for a large investment bank for slightly over a year and then moved to doing middle office technology in the hedge fund industry (not a hedge fund). I have been interested in computational finance since college and actually interviewed at several quantitative hedge funds (although not for quant roles) but that is as far as I went.

I wanted to ask for advice regarding the following:

1) MBA/MFE? I am also interested in an MBA as I think it would nicely supplement my technical background, but I'm kind of torn in between at the moment. Would there be any point in doing an MFE over an MBA if I later decide to move to CTO/CIO type strategic roles?

2) I want to do something closer to the business but I don't want to be a trader or investment banker (thinking more like quantitative risk management, modeling, etc where I would still be able to do programming while being involved closely with the business). Is the MFE a clear winner here? On the other hand what kind of positions would I be looking at if I went for an MBA instead?