• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Derivatives trader looking to jump to academia/quant PM role

Hi all - please excuse the erudite nature of this post. Have done a good deal of scouring, and had a few idiosyncratic circumstances I'd love to glean some perspective on.

I'm currently an interest rate derivatives trader at large investment bank, four years out of undergrad (econ/social sciences dbl major). I largely trade a proprietary/discretion-based book (i.e, make PnL based on fundamental/technical theses/trade ideas). This style of trading rankles me for two reasons: a) it's incredibly stressful, and b) I believe the world of proprietary trading is moving away from irrational human/discretionary traders sitting in individual silos and ultimately toward a quant/algo structure. What I love the most about my role is the macroeconomic nature of the markets I follow, and being able to formulate large scope theses and allocate assets/risk based on this. Still, I want to be in a role where I'm looking at the big picture more quantitatively and systematically. Moreover, I have a very strong/nuanced understanding of the markets, pricing mechanics, etc. The caveat however: my math acumen is limited to calc (1-3), linear algebra and ordinary differential equations; i.e. my college-level classes, with very limited statistics and almost no programming experience. Hence, I'm considering a quantitative M.A at Columbia to fill in these g