• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Double Master degrees, and then what?

Double Master degrees, and then what?
I am studying for two full-time degrees at the same time, with aim to becoming a quant.
  • Master of Science in Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering specializing: mathematical statistics (financial statistics) and algorithm implementation. 5 years of credits
  • Master of Science in Business and Economics, specializing: Financial Economics. 4 years of credits
I’m almost done; total study time for receiving the two diplomas is counted to be 5 years,

I have knowledge of C++, Java, SQL, Matlab, VB.
Knowledge in stochastic calculus (eg. Know how to price derivative instruments) and numerical analysis.
So to my questions

I don’t know if I should consider applying for a Ph.d program or not. Or is my educational background enough for becoming a quant. I am still young and would receive a Ph.d at an age of 28 (approx.).

If yes, anyone who can recommend a Ph.D programme/school, in financial engineering, financial economics?

Is this a big advantage in the quant world with two Masters Degrees like mine above?

Is it usual in this industry to have dual Master degrees?

The next step for you would be to find a job. It makes no sense to do degree after degree without knowing what skills the market want and what line of work you like/hate.