• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

First year trying to get a bit ahead: hedging a long position exercise

Hello everyone, I am a first year student in econometrics and financial mathematics. I am reading through some books and going through some courses from the next years and I wanted to know if you all could help me with one of the assignments and to make sure that I understand what is going on here.

The assignment gives me some historical data (1 year, daily close price) and asks me to propose a portfolio of 4 stocks from a list of 20 stocks such that the portfolio that I have chosen "hedges the long position of 100 shares of CompanyA". I'm not sure of how to understand what is in quotes. My understanding is that I need to choose the 4 stocks, given the historical data, such that it reduces losses in the future (no data). I'm not sure how the information about the "long position of 100 shares of CompanyA" is supposed to be used. Did I understand this correctly?

I think it should be the stocks with max negative correlation w.r.t Stock A
or
SHORT the 4 stocks with max correlation w.r.t Stock A