• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

From top 5 Masters programs to NYU / Columbia

Hi All,

I am a Masters student in a top 5 CS department in USA (think MIT / Princeton / Harvard / Stanford / Caltech), and I'm interested in applying to NYU / Columbia for the MFE program.

From talking to friends in financial services, I am being told that going from my current university to NYU would be like a downgradation of my qualifications, and it would be difficult for me to justify my decision to any recruiter [PS: No offense to NYU, I am simply stating what a friend of mine (VP@bulge']VP @ bulge bracket) told me. On the other hand, Columbia has a much better brand name & hence a greater sellability with respect to placements.

Is there anyone with more knowledge of NYU / Columbia, who can share their opinion ?

Thanks !
Shweta

Why don't you try to do financial engineering at your university itself? I am just curious

Maybe this will sound naive but why stress yourself out worrying and wasting time with applications acceptances, etc? If you are happy with your school and it is just a matter of career service you should be fine: sell yourself! You're a 2X master IVY league student! Heck, I want to hire you now and I don't even know who you are ;)

MRoss - I am in a CS program, and want a job in finance... surely, i need good career center services !