• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Getting my hands dirty

I have been an active trader for 2 years, yet when faced with the prospect of applying to grad school I get weak at the knees, I just never feel that my knowledge of how the market works is adequate.

I hold a degree in Electrical engineering, and although I have become increasingly interested in trading systems, my trading approach is discretionary.

My question is, how do I get my hands dirty in all that lovely math, before I commit myself to an MFE? Where exactly do I start, and what is the most practical approach?

Thanks in advance.

It's like a call option. You can't never lose more than the premium. Depends on where you buy your option from, it can cost you handsomely.
You want to test if you can handle the math before you join an MFE program right? Your best bet is to get a math book, do all the homework, check the answer to see if you get it all right.
One book comes to mind is by Prof. Dan Stefanica. I suggest this book because it's actually being used in the refresher course of Baruch MFE program. You can also check the answers right here on Quantnet.
Get the book at Financial Engineering Press or on Amazon
For about $40 buck, it's very inexpensive way to find out before you jump into MFE.