• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Greetings

Hello Everybody,
I am Manik, from India.

My Background is:
1) Bachelor of Technology in engineering physics, Indian Institute of technology, Mumbai-2005
2) Software designer/developer @ E2EInfotech / Orc Software (trading s/w firm based out of sweden), technologies involved in the work. Unix (solaris 9,X), Linux, Java, c,c++ and a little bit of assembly. (2.25 years)
3) Quantitative Derivatives Analyst @ pyxis systems (risk management consultancy), worked in implementing standard pricing methods for Interest rate and fx derivatives using trees, BSM, volatility models, some work on equity portfolio Var (MC, delta gamma) besides some other consultancy/implementation work such as Vol modelling using Proprietary models from clients, worked on VBA, sql, Matlab, Visual c++ with STL.

I am also pursuing PRMIA certification and CFA L1 (hoping all goes well).

I want to get back education (especially places like Baruch) because I want a nice blend of c,c++, advanced computing and Mathematics and finance and also work on a trading floor, like the one Baruch has to offer.

Things I see as a -ve in my profile:
1) Bad (below 3) gpa.
2) Never really worked in an Investment Bank or done stuff like prop trading, synthetic equity, product control, attribution and/or worked on live data .... (trying to get in to a job that helps me do all this though)
3)Age (Mid twenties)