• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

High Performance Computing in Finance (not GPUs)

I'm doing a PhD in highly parallel computing (as in - world's largest supercomputers) and I was wondering if anyone knows of any applications of HPC in finance?

I'm talking the FOTRAN/MPI/OpenMP kind with 100,000+ processors rather than the CUDA stuff.

Sounds promising, though I'm not holding my breath. Apparently cloud-like supercomputing services are in the ascendancy too, so that could be another avenue.

I had access to my university's cluster server that run MPI back in the early 2000's during my PhD year. I would schedule a few computational intensive tasks (number crunching) and check back a day or two later to find out the jobs were cancelled by some professors in the Chemistry dept who wanted to run their molecular simulation.
Now, I can rent several times that much power from Amazon cloud by the hours. Maybe for tasks that can be run overnight like portfolio optimization, reporting of million positions, supercomputer may be a good choice. For real-time task like pricing, GPU is much more practical.
If you find out more uses, let me know.

How much does the amazon computing cost,out of interest? I've heard that people are now building GPU supercomputers at a fraction of the cost of the usual CPU ones so maybe that's also a potential avenue for exploration.