• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

How is the market for entry level Quant?

Hi ,

I have a PhD in Statistics and Probability. I have done a internship at Bloomberg under Dupire last semester. I am actively looking for a job, but have not been able to get one single interview in last 2 months. Does anybody have a suggestion about how to approach this job application? Because I am on OPT for last one and half month and I will have to move back home in case nothing works out in the grace period which OPT allows.

I am presently located in NYC and I got my PhD from Michigan State University.

Maybe I shouldn't go for a Masters in Quantitative Methods or Statistics if the job market is this bad :(
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruno_Dupire
Dupire is the recipient of the Risk magazine "Lifetime Achievement Award", and has been voted in 2006 as the most important derivatives practitioner of the previous 5 years in the ICBI Global Derivatives industry survey. He has also been included in Dec' 02 in the Risk magazine "Hall of Fame" of the 50 most influential people in the history of derivatives.[4] In 2006 he was awarded the Cutting Edge research award by Wilmott Magazine [5]

Have you had your resume checked out? If you can't even get an interview then I would guess your resume might have some problems.

Have you had your resume checked out? If you can't even get an interview then I would guess your resume might have some problems.