• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

How to prepare for Quant Researcher interviews/jobs?

Hi!

I’m a third year pure math PhD student in a tier 1 but not so prestigious US college. Recently, I decided that the academia is not the best option for me and started to look for industry jobs. I am planning to apply remote quantitative researcher jobs in 2-2.5 years. However, I haven’t taken any CS or finance courses and I am not very experienced at coding.

I have 2.5 years till I graduate. I’m planning to self teach myself Python, attend some sort of Math-to-Industry bootcamps this summer, find an internship for next summer and work part-time or remotely in my last year as a PhD student. Does this sound like a good plan? What else can I do to improve my chances? Should I take a finance course, or just read Hull’s Options, Futures and Other Derivatives book? Lastly, is it possible to work remotely as a quantitative researcher, especially while living in another country?

Thanks a lot!

A Math PhD from a tier 1 school should help you land some interviews but it's all about your skills from there.
Here are links to the job descriptions for Quant Research roles at some top firms,
SIG QR
Citadel Securities QR