I am a Quant C++ Dev in NYC, working closely with a large quant team and loving it (mostly). AMA

Feel free to post questions below, and I'll try to address them as well as I can :)
quantdev.jpeg

Hey Pavlos, thanks for sharing your story and experience with us.
What is your background and how you get to your current position?
Hi Michelle! I graduated with a business admin degree (mostly soft skills) and slowly transitioned to math/tech by taking courses and certificates and self-studying. Similarly, I enrolled in Quantnet's C++ certificates which gave me the confidence to attempt software engineering. A few years later, I graduated with my master's in mathematics, with some financial engineering and CS background, and with strong C++ skills. I got my first job at a bank, and after a year, I moved up to a senior role as a trading systems developer for another three years. Recently I switched to my current role.

You say you Quantnet's C++ courses gave you confidence, and then years later you had strong skills. How long did it take to transition from Quantnet's C++ courses to 'strong C++ skills,' or hire-able skills, and how well do Quantnet's courses alone prepare one for a real job?

*Edit: I just realized you are the same author as the 'how Quantnet C++ courses got me a job on Wall Street' pinned post. Reading through those responses gives me a decent idea of what your repose would be.
I'll leave the original question unedited above, but I'd also like to know how well these courses prepare someone for a non-software dev role. Trading or research. I've read different colleges earnings reports, Baruch's says that most of their graduates spend >50% (with many >70%) of their time coding. But I'm not sure what that looks like in the different roles.