• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

In trouble

Dear Everyone
I am in deep trouble. I graduated from UC Davis with a bio-chemical engineering degree last year (yea man it was hard enough already) I went into this program when they said the bio-tech was going to boom. Of course I got fooled so badly and I just want to dig a hole and hide my head in it. I was lucky that I got a job offer before I even graduated consider that many of my classmates waited 3 to 6 months. The company that I am working for is still a big one right next to HP. (so what) The pay is not that great around 55k (yea I know I'm in deep sh5t) Moreover, they are moving to indy but I don't want to go with there since I am Chinese of course I want to stay in San Francisco Bay YAY.

Okey, here is my plan to make the career change.

1. look for the jobs first and see what kind of jobs they offer in San Francisco bay. Unfortunately, I haven't found anything. I search Craigslist and Career builder. (yea I know that all the good jobs won't post on Career builder) May I ask where I can find some interns in the derivative or fix income field?

2. After reading the job descriptions and find the one I like, I will start develop skills match specifically the job. There are a lot of intense training program out there so I think I can just develop those skills by taking those classes. SAS is wide used and I found this, SAS Programming Certification