• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Interested in FE, Unique Background

Hi,

I am interested in pursuing a career in financial engineering. I live near NYC, so I have been looking at various financial engineering/mathematics programs in the area. However, my background is unique, so I do not know how to assess the probability of an acceptance.

After graduating with a BS in Physics from a liberal arts college (3.2 GPA), I played poker professionally for about 1 year. I consider myself to be a very knowledgeable student of both the mathematical/game theory side of the game as well as the human aspect of it. I then quit playing professionally and got a job as a high school physics teacher so I could make a more "dignified" proposal of marriage to my girlfriend (she said yes!). I am now in my second year of teaching both conceptual and calculus based physics at the high school level.

I have only taken a few diagnostic GRE exams, but I hope to score an 800 quant /700 verbal and close to perfect on the analytical writing, which would be in line with my SAT scores and my diagnostic exams. My grades in college were not great (C- in Linear Algebra) but I blame most of that on my 3 seasons of varsity sports freshman through junior year. I quit the track and cross-country teams as a senior, and then did much better in my physics and math classes. I also got an A in the C++ course I took.