• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Internship advice

Hi everyone. I'm a Polish MSc student (more about my education here: http://www.quantnet.com/forum/threads/new-quantnet-members-say-hi.1191/page-50#post-74624) thinking of finding a summer internship in quant finance abroad, as hardly any interesting opportunities in this field can be found in Poland. I've already read some of the discussions and blog entries on Quantnet, as well as a couple of quant career guides available on the Internet. However, they don't clear my biggest doubt - do I have any reasonable chance of getting an interesting internship being a Polish resident and a student of a non-top-tier univeristy? When it comes to my skills and experience I hope it's not so bad:
-BSc in Applied Math with a good GPA (4,76/5,00)
-well-rounded mathematical background, pretty good with stochastic calculus, statistical inference, econometrics
-good problem-solving skills (managed to nail a couple of IMC-level problems in my life)
-familiar with R and Excel/VBA, some experience with Matlab
-lots of scholarships & extra-curricular activities
-got some experience with developing and testing algo trading strategies
-C/C++ skills and specific knowledge of advanced financial modelling could be better, but my forthcoming graduate courses are likely to improve that.

I'm still wondering what else can I do to make my internship search effective. Thanks for any advice :)