• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Is an age of 32 years too late to enroll for MFE?

I am contemplating of pursuing MFE next year when I would be 32 years old. I have 6 years of trading experience in India and would like to move to US. If I pursue MFE, I would graduate at age of about 34. Would this age be a hindrance for top tier banks to hire me? Should I give up on the idea of MFE?

It will not hinder you in getting into an MFE program, but it will hinder you a lot in getting a job. At that age, you shouldn't consider an MFE unless you get into one of the top 3 programs, and an MBA will most likely be the best option for you. The reasons for this are as follows:
- Outside of the top 3 programs, most of the students are fresh graduates coming straight from undergrad in a STEM field. Recruitment at these programs is generally targeted at entry-level quant developer, junior trader, analyst-level jobs. Your age and experience will mean you can't compete for these jobs, and you will have to search on your own. If you don't already have extensive connections in the US, it will be very hard.
- Unless you worked for a reputable foreign firm in India, how firms will value your trading experience in India is ambiguous. So even if you get into one of the top 3 programs, it's difficult to say if you can enter into a bank as an associate or VP.