• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Is there enough time for me to take this course?

MMF

Hello all,

I am currently a first year PhD student in Applied Mathematics, and I am heavily considering going into finance afterwards. I'm interested in this C++ program, both to help me land an internship as soon as next summer, but also to help me learn C++ at an intermediate level which will assist me in my current research. I've heard the course can be quite time demanding, and as a result I didn't know if it would be fit for me to take now or if I should wait until the summer. I am currently juggling courses and research.

Thanks for reading.

Go for it! It is 16 weeks and students have lots of time. QN C++ is a skill.

I am the originator of this course and a numerical analyst. And C++ is super for maths!

If you mean land an internship summer of 2020, you'd better get cracking. The certificate will likely be a differentiator.

If you have in mind to study through the summer (not a terrible idea - there are a lot of "Masters" students who either failed comps or didn't get thesis topic approved), then I'd do the certificate then.