• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Job hunting preparation for a PhD in Statistics (Financial Math)

Hello everyone.

A little bit about myself: I have one year towards a PhD in Statistics from a program that ranks ~20. Before that I completed a masters in financial mathematics from a top 3 program. GPA 4.0/4.0 from both (if that matters), and I will have three publications when graduating, in good journals.

My research has revolved around mathematical finance (option pricing and model calibration), and my "areas of expertise" would be stochastic calculus and probability. I have also done a lot of coursework related to financial math, simulation, programming, etc.

I have no internship experience.

My goal is to land an internship or a full time position starting in summer/fall 2015. To give an idea about the kind of position I am looking for, my dream position would be a research quant at Goldman Sachs.

I would basically like to start preparing today, and I have a few questions:

-I will start practicing brain teasers and other typical interview questions. Is Heard on the street a good starting point for that?

-Due to my research, I have not had too much time to follow financial markets and the world economy.