• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Life of a quant

I'm sorry if this information is already posted somewhere, but I'd looked around and couldnt find it.

I'm an undergraduate trying to decide what career or at least field I'd like to go into, and I was just wondering about the lifestyle of a quant. I know that people in non-quant finance are known to work easily 60, and up to or more than 70 hours a week. I was wondering if there is any info on the hourly workweek of a quant, and also generally how long it takes a fresh MSFE (or similar) graduate to be receiving 100k+ salary.

Appreciate any info you guys, thanks in advance!

-Gordo Wardo

I am currently applying to MFE programs, w/ one acceptance so far and hoping for more to come. As far as the work load goes, I think quants usually get to work at least an hr before the market opens and then go home a few hours after the market closes. So that would give you an estimate of around 60-80 hours/week. I guess there is no way of escaping the grind if you wanna work in finance. And for compensation, I would imagine most first-year quants to make just above 100k, including bonuses. Hedge funds like DE Shaw and Ren Tech probably pay a bit more. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

How about a little more recent, that I just got told from an interview with SIF solutions?