• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Maybe a silly question: age issue for MFE

Hey, guys,

I'm a prospective student for a Financial Math program in UK. I will be 29 after finishing the course. Would that be too late to get into the industry?

My background:
M.E. & B.E. in mechanics
worked in Siemens as a software engineer for 2 years
ran my own B2C website for 1 year.

Would age be a problem to get into the industry? Thank you for your comments

Mark

Hey, guys,

I'm a prospective student for a Financial Math program in UK. I will be 29 after finishing the course. Would that be too late to get into the industry?

My background:
M.E. & B.E. in mechanics
worked in Siemens as a software engineer for 2 years
ran my own B2C website for 1 year.

Would age be a problem to get into the industry? Thank you for your comments

Mark

To put it into perspective...people typically retire when they are 65. If you finish the degree when you are 29, you have 36 more years of work, compared to the mere 6-8 years of experience prior to starting your FE program. Meaning you still have 80% of your work life ahead of you. So no, you won't be too old.