• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

MSc in Financial Maths for a C++ dev with no finance or banking background

Hey Guys,
I am sure a query related to this has been addressed on this forum many a times, however I thought I will seek your opinion on my situation which might be little different given my background and aspirations. Apologies if its a long read.

I am a couputer science graduate and have studied engineering and discreet maths for at least 2.5 years of my 4 year degree. I also went on to do my MSc in software engineering soon after that. Here I did not do much of math but more of computer algorithms and data structures etc.

I have been out of uni for more than 8 years now and have been in full time employment for this period. The job has all been about operating system development for a leading smartphone manufacturer and heavily focussed on programming, especially using C++ and OO concepts.

I have been planning to do a degree in financial mathematics for some time now and have recently applied to warwick for their full time FM course. I know I have not really used any serious maths in my professional career but I am confident that given decent background in maths and coupled with some pre-studies, I should be able to catch up.