• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

MSc Thesis: Random forest long-term return prediction

Dear all,

I am a Quantitative finance student, and I will start writing my MSc Thesis soon. Right now, my idea is to research if a random forest algorithm could outperform traditional models (like Fama-French factor model) in predicting long-term stock returns. This is the topic I choose, as I am very interested in Machine Learning, and I'd like to learn and apply it.

I am in doubt right now whether this is the right topic to follow. I would like to hear your advice/opinion on this topic, whether it is feasible and/or interesting. + if you have ideas on an interesting touch to the topic, let me know!

Thank you in advance!

There's certainly no shortage of fancy buzz words in ML. The proposal is high-risk and there's no guarantee that useful results will be obtained. I could be wrong but a Plan B does no harm.

For MSc I recommend benchmarking existing methods and integrating/improving them with ML. Avoid the perpetual "90% of project finished (the other 10% will take forever) " syndrome.
Here's a good thesis from 2019

I have always thought that that prediction was difficult, especially predicting stock prices.

Thank your for the advice!