• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Must have courses in MFE.

QuantNet

Staff member
Hi,

I am an IT professional with 14+ years of exp Engineering background. I love numbers, I am a xls man and want to get into Quant field. I was looking at different MFE programs, and I notice different schools call it with different names. Some call it mathematical Finance, some call it Financial Engineering and some Quantitative Finance.

Wikipedia and other quants on this forum have opined that in the broad vision it does not matter and they are all same. However, are there some 'must have' courses one should look for in the program before he selects? For I also read a opinion on this forum which said unlike MBA the school in MFE doesnot matter. If so is the case, and so is diversity that at one school they dont teach c++ but other it is required, I need help from forum members to understand the 'must have' courses which helps me to narrow down to better programs.

Thanks in advance for all your help,

Most headhunters here will tell you that they want people with strong c++ skills. I haven't seen any quant job ads that specially say that c++ (or enter some kind of programming language here) is not wanted.