• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

My first message post, I have three questions

Hello to all,

I have three questions:

I'm a senior undergraduate in mathematics and haven't completely decided what career to persue because several interest me. These include finance, actuary, and math research in different areas as nonlinear dynamics/chaos and computational number theory. To keep my options open, I'm asking for advice from the more experienced.

Q 1) What electives from the following would you recommend as preparation for graduate work/career in quantatitive finance, and for graduate school (phd).
I can choose three from: graduate partial differential equations, statistics, financial math (based on Baxter's book), complex variables, actuary science, independent study in topology or numerical analysis, cryptology.
I'm familiar with complex varibles, statistics, and cryptology; if perhaps this should influence your recommendation.

It's especially hard for me to choose between electives since I like all flavors of maths; logic, algebra, adv calc, probabilty, and so on.