• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Number of words to learn for GRE?

I guess the 800 should be a good start...anything above that is great!!!Learning and remembering them all is tough:)!!

I started learning 3500 from Barrons but find many words useless?
That's because most GRE words ARE useless. I got a 700, but had a head-start prepping for the SATs earlier in life. The words for GRE that go beyond the SAT are useless.

My general take on GRE verbal is that prep via memorizing words is not going to yield a big improvement on your score if you only have a short time frame. Better to brush up on grammar, reading comprehension, etc. These things can be learned relatively quickly, and on top of that actually make a difference in communication, unlike learning meaning of the word "dross" for example.

Sometimes I wonder which one is actually a better gauge of one's language ability: the GRE Verbal that focuses on vocabs; or the AWA that focuses on essays and arguments.

I've noticed that people that beat my GRE verbal score are usually not more eloquent speakers, if that tells you much.

Then again, I studied 0 words for GRE. I did take a small SAT-prep class back in the day, but it wasn't overly effective and was ~8 years ago.

I've noticed that people that beat my GRE verbal score are usually not more eloquent speakers, if that tells you much.