• C++ Programming for Financial Engineering
    Highly recommended by thousands of MFE students. Covers essential C++ topics with applications to financial engineering. Learn more Join!
    Python for Finance with Intro to Data Science
    Gain practical understanding of Python to read, understand, and write professional Python code for your first day on the job. Learn more Join!
    An Intuition-Based Options Primer for FE
    Ideal for entry level positions interviews and graduate studies, specializing in options trading arbitrage and options valuation models. Learn more Join!

Part-time or Full-time Top MFE?

Hi,

I'm now working in a major IB as trading support for about 1 year (day to day support and build analytical/reporting spreadsheet for traders and MO). I have a CMU IT master already. Like many people, trading is the career I really want to pursue. So I want to pursue a MFE degree to develop my career. I've applied these programs:

Full-time: MIT MFin, Princeton MSF, CMU MSCF, UCB MFE
Part-time: NYU, Columbia MathFinance, CMU MSCF

If I get admission to MIT or Princeton, it is a no-brainer decision. But how about other program like MSCF? Should I take full-time ($100K and 1.5 year opportunity cost) or part-time (sponsored by company)?

Pros of full-time MSCF: I only need devote 1.5 year and then can break into FO without big problems. Good chance to get in because my referral is one of MSCF adcom.

Cons of full-time MSCF: I already have a master degree in CMU. Another one won;t increase my alumni base significantly. Huge cost.

Pros of part-time: no cost and opportunity cost.

Cons of part-time: many people say it is hard to change a job b/c part-time degree. Maybe switch to quant is easier (I have couples of quant interview now) but not trader.